Beware of the new Google Drive features that will erase data from October 13

Hackers use Google Drive feature to plug targeted malware, phish for  sensitive information- Technology News, Firstpost

Google Drive is releasing a new feature that will delete data if you haven't touched it in 30 days. It is a logical function, but better to be prevented...
Google announced that week a modification of the Google Drive terms, to match them with Gmail. From October 13, files that have been in the trash for more than 30 days will be deleted automatically.
Until now, when you sent files to the Google Drive Trash, they remained in it indefinitely, until you emptied the trash manually. However, they were still consuming a share of space.

32 Google Drive Tips You've Probably Never Heard Before | Process Street |  Checklist, Workflow and SOP Software

With the update coming next October 13, Google Drive will change the operation of the Trash, erasing what's there when it's been there for at least 30 days. It is important to know this new function, because many people use the trash as a kind of temporary storage, retrieving information later. It's a misuse of it, but it had been standardized.
In its blog, Google explains the reasons for this change. The first is that you want to match the functions of the Google Drive Trash with that of Gmail, which has long also been emptied after 30 days.
Second, it aims to recover the original use of the Trash, which is to get rid of things that don't work, and not a reusable temporary store.

How to transfer all my Google drive and Gmail data to a different account -  Quora

It finally cites security and privacy issues. If they are files that are no longer served it is safest to delete them, instead of remaining recoverable and therefore visible by other people.
After deletion, the data can no longer be recovered. Only the System Administrator will be able to recover them after they are lost by a user, for an additional 25 days.
Users will be informed in the weeks leading up to the update with notifications and messages, indicating the changes that will occur in the Google Drive paper.
Notifications will also be sent before being deleted and will be deleted even if the user does not agree. The only way it won't take place is to take them out of the trash can before that month passes.

Post a Comment

0 Comments