How to turn off the location of your photos on Android


One of the most common actions with our Android phones is to take photos. Whether it's when we're visiting somewhere, a selfie at home or a photo with friends, we take pictures frequently. The presence of GPS on our smartphone also allows us to record the location where we have taken these images, something that may be useful, but others do not finish convincing them.

The record of the location where a photo was taken from our Android mobile is something that many see as an invasion of privacy. If you want to stop showing that location, there are two ways to turn it off, so it's not recorded in the photos we took.

From the settings in the camera app

The camera app allows us to enable or disable an option with which the location of those photos that we take on Android is recorded. This is something that all camera apps allow, although both the name and location of that option will vary depending on the app you use, either the native or a third-party app. The steps to follow in this case are:

  • Open the camera app on Android.
  • Enter your settings.
  • Find the Location option (on Samsung it's called Location Tags and in other brands, it's Save Location).
  • Turn off this settings option.

When you turn off this option, the next photo you take with your phone's camera will not have recorded that location. This is something you can check from your phone's gallery, entering a photo and viewing all the data in that image. You'll see that that data is no longer the location of the data.



Remove location permission

A second option to do this on Android is to remove the camera app's location permission. A more direct measure, but that cuts the problem in the bud. When the camera app on your phone no longer has that location permission, the photos we take will never record the location where we took them. The steps to do this are:

  1. Open your phone's Settings.
  2. Go to Apps (on some mobiles you have to go to Privacy).
  3. Go to the Permissions section.
  4. Find the Location of permission.
  5. In the list of apps that come out, look for the camera app.
  6. Remove this permission from the app (turn off the switch).

These steps allow the camera app on Android to not be able to record the location of the photos when we take any. When you open the app after removing your permission, you may ask us to grant it to you again, but in this case, we should not.



On Google Photos

Google Photos is an app that many Android users use to store their photos, although they recently announced the end of unlimited free storage. This app is known for organizing photos also based on the location where they were taken, so if you want, you can also disable this option in the app. When you do this, the photos are no longer organized depending on where they were taken.

  1. Open Google Photos on your phone.
  2. Tap your profile picture.
  3. Go to Settings.
  4. Go to Location Settings.
  5. Removes the location permission for the application.

When you remove that location permission from Google Photos on Android, the photos will not already be organized based on that location. On the other hand, if you are sharing photos from the app, you can turn on the "Hide location data" option in the settings, which will cause when you share photos that location will not be displayed.

Post a Comment

0 Comments